Sunday, April 5, 2009

Tracking Photoshop History

Enter the history metadata. Note that this is different than the History Palette in Photoshop. The History Palette saves a limited number of snapshots of your image as you work it in Photoshop. You can click on a step to return to that editing point, but as soon as you close the image, the History is cleared to save memory. History metadata, on the other hand, tracks everything you do to an image, forever! You can't, however, return your image to that point in time, you can only see the details of what you did - which is often all you need.
Set the preference in Photoshop to save all your history to the image metadata.


From this point on, all information is saved with the file in the history metadata.
Now, to view this info for a future image, goto File, File Info...



In the File info dialog, click on History to see all the gory details! You'll notice that it names all the actions you've used too, which can be very helpful.